Posted by: EMS | 29 December 2009

Dust vs Mud

Those are your two choices in Kandahar.  (Well, in the winter, anyway.  In the summer it’s more like, “Do you want your baked earth scorched or lightly singed?”)   Winter is the rainy season here  at the edge of the desert; so far we’ve seen some sort of rain about once a week.  Which means we’ve had ample opportunity to observe things like, What is the optimal time to go for an outdoor run after it rains?   I say about 30 hours. 

Unclear how today’s HAIL STORM (!!) affects my math.

(Chances I run tomorrow?  Low.  Chances I feel guilty about it?  Only slightly higher.)

PS My sister’s care package arrived yesterday.  Nobody knows junk-food like Kelsey.  I could go into diabetic shock just thinking about it….


  1. You wanted “Kelsey” food, and I sent “Kelsey” food! I only do what I’m told. :) (Well, not always…)

    Enjoy it! We love you!

  2. The Thunder Run has linked to this post in the blog post From the Front: 12/30/2009 News and Personal dispatches from the front and the home front.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

